Committee The Ed Johnson Committee was formed in 2016, comprised of a group of citizens who believed the Chattanooga community needed to find a way to better tell the Ed Johnson story, a part of American history that changed the justice system. The diverse group includes members who had previously contributed to remembering the Ed Johnson story by getting a state resolution passed, writing a play about him and maintaining the cemetery where he is buried. In addition to creating a public space, the Committee is helping fund a documentary, funding a scholarship and creating a website with all known information about the story. The committee has gained support from the Chattanooga mayor and city council, as well as key stakeholders in the community. It has created a fund at the Community Foundation of Greater Chattanooga. It is now working with Public Art Chattanooga to create this commemorative public space.

Our mission

To promote racial healing and reconciliation in Chattanooga by creating a permanent memorial which acknowledges the lynching of Ed Johnson, honors the courageous work of the attorneys and others who stood up for equal justice, and recognizes the resulting United States Supreme Court case that established federal oversight of state level civil rights issues then and now.

Meet the Committee

  • LaFrederick Thirkill, Co-chair
  • Steve Derthick, Co-chair
  • Mariann Martin, Coordinator
  • Eric Atkins
  • Kevin Bate
  • Donivan Brown
  • Alea Coble
  • Eleanor Cooper
  • Linda Duvoisin
  • John Edwards
  • Ellis Gardner
  • Katharine McCallie Gardner
  • Kathleen Hunt
  • Kathy Lennon
  • Nikki Lewis
  • James McKissic
  • Beth Murphy
  • Kay Parish
  • Dana Perry
  • Michelle Phillips Schrader
  • Scott Schrader
  • Bruce Stewart
  • Cameron Williams
  • Elizabeth Williams
  • Chris Woodhull